latest stable versions: v150827 (changelog)

Old Forums (READ-ONLY): The community now lives at WP Sharks™. If you have an s2Member® Pro question, please use our new Support System.

Custom DB fields, ODBC

Home Forums Community Forum Custom DB fields, ODBC

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices. Last updated by  Fred Riley 4 years, 4 months ago.

Topic Author Topic
Posted: Saturday Aug 11th, 2012 at 3:53 pm #21784
Fred Riley
Username: fredriley

Hi

I’m seriously looking at getting a pro licence for s2member, based on the review at Winkpress, the pre-sales FAQs, and looking at the fora.

I’m an experienced web developer and designer who manages the site at http://www.eurocall-languages.org, which is for a non-profit international academic community. I’m putting this site into WordPress, using Woothemes Canvas for styling plus a couple of other plugins. My colleagues want a members-only area, but better than my existing very basic setup which requires members to fill in a registration form but doesn’t connect with our membership database (currently implemented in Zoho – yeah, I know, I’m working on it).

Although I could use s2member simply to restrict Members Area content, getting members to register with the site so that they get records in the WP database, our membership secretary would have to manually remove any members who’ve not renewed, which happens often [1]. Ideally, our membership database, the website and payments would be tightly integrated, so that the member logs in and sees her membership profile, info and status and can renew membership online. I was going to redesign the membership DB in PHP/MySQL with an API which could be queried, but looking at s2member (and other WP membership plugins, though this looks to be the closest fit to our basic needs) it occurs to me that the WP DB could be our main membership DB, which could save a lot of time and effort.

After that preamble, my questions are: