latest stable versions: v150827 (changelog)

Old Forums (READ-ONLY): The community now lives at WP Sharks™. If you have an s2Member® Pro question, please use our new Support System.

s2-server-scanner redirect failure fix

Home Forums Community Forum s2-server-scanner redirect failure fix

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices. Last updated by  Bruce 3 years, 4 months ago.

Topic Author Topic
Posted: Sunday Aug 18th, 2013 at 6:59 pm #56119

I have a VPS at ServInt and the s2-server-scanner script failed the redirect to itself test (fopen/curl) even though everything on the server is installed. After some searching, and then opening a support ticket with ServInt, they fixed it by added the domain name to the server’s /etc/hosts file on the 127.0.0.1 line . This caused the s2-server-scanner script to pass. I have yet to install S2Member on the domain as I’m still learning my way around it with a local development on computer. (ServerPress)

Two questions regarding the scanner script failure:
1. Is the /etc/hosts file fix really a fix or is there something else broken?
2. I have a server wide htaccess modification that causes Apache to prompt for a login and password whenever wp-login.php is accessed. This effectively stops bot hack attempts and DDoS storms. But, could this be causing the s2-server-scanner script to fail the redirect test? I am not protecting anything but the wp-login.php script. In other words, wp-admin is still accessible unimpeded.

A third question, but slightly unrelated:
3. I would like to keep the wp-login.php protection in place, but also have a copy of that script under a different name (e.g. my-login.php) so that I can use that instead of wp-login.php. Will this cause problems with S2Member?

Thank you for any assistance.

List Of Topic Replies

Viewing 1 replies (of 1 total)
Author Replies
Author Replies
Posted: Tuesday Aug 20th, 2013 at 5:37 am #56232
Bruce
Username: Bruce
Staff Member

Thank you for your inquiry.