latest stable versions: v150827 (changelog)

Old Forums (READ-ONLY): The community now lives at WP Sharks™. If you have an s2Member® Pro question, please use our new Support System.

Capitals in username

Home Forums Community Forum Capitals in username

Tagged: ,

This topic contains 12 replies, has 3 voices. Last updated by  Craig Wallace 4 years, 2 months ago.

Topic Author Topic
Posted: Sunday Sep 23rd, 2012 at 3:26 pm #26210
Craig Wallace
Username: Craig

Hi,

I am new to s2member and fairly new to wordpress. I have set up my paypal sandbox and am testing my s2member registration form. The only problem I am getting is the message:

ERROR: This username is invalid because it uses illegal characters. Please enter a valid username.

This seems to be purely due to using a capital letter at the start of the user name. I don’t think many people would ever think ‘illegal character’ = ‘capital letter’, and the registration page presented by s2member gives no indication that the name has to be all lower case.

How can I either;
Allow upper case letters in the username.
Add text to the error message to say what ‘illegal characters’ are.
Force the username to be all lower case using javascript.

Thanks.

Craig

• This topic was modified 4 years, 3 months ago by  Craig Wallace. Reason: reword title

List Of Topic Replies

Viewing 12 replies - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
Author Replies
Author Replies
Posted: Sunday Sep 23rd, 2012 at 4:04 pm #26223
Eduan
Username: Eduan

Hello Craig,

Could you please post the username that you were trying to register? Uppercase letters are not an illegal character.

Posted: Monday Sep 24th, 2012 at 5:46 am #26271
Craig Wallace

I tried Craig and got the error.

As soon as I changed Craig to craig, it worked fine.

I am using WordPress 3.4.2 MU if it helps.

Craig

• This reply was modified 4 years, 3 months ago by  Craig Wallace.
Posted: Monday Sep 24th, 2012 at 12:15 pm #26326
Eduan