latest stable versions: v150827 (changelog)

Old Forums (READ-ONLY): The community now lives at WP Sharks™. If you have an s2Member® Pro question, please use our new Support System.

Custom capabilities usage clarification

Home Forums Community Forum Custom capabilities usage clarification

This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices. Last updated by  Eduan 4 years, 4 months ago.

Topic Author Topic
Posted: Saturday Aug 11th, 2012 at 7:36 pm #21795
TBguitars
Username: tbguitars

Please forgive me, this is my first time using the ccap functionality and I just want to be sure I am clear. Do I just add the word I specified for the custom capability into the box on my edit page window inside wordpress? Or is there code I need to use there?

Wasn’t sure since the video seems to be from an older version.

Thanks!

List Of Topic Replies

Viewing 8 replies - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
Author Replies
Author Replies
Posted: Saturday Aug 11th, 2012 at 9:21 pm #21796
cassel
Username: cassel

Hi, i am not support rep, but a user like you. Custom capabilities (ccaps in short) can be used in two main ways:
1- you can enter the ccaps (whatever word you want to use is fine) in the top right box where you see “Require Custom Capabilities?”
This will make the whole page unavailable for any user who does not have that ccaps access.

2- you can use it with conditionals, where you can show part of a page for those who have specific ccaps, and other content for others.

Then, you have to assign the ccaps to the user mainly with the buttons or pro-forms, when a member registers (i think you can assign ccaps with free registration, but i am not sure how, since i dont use it myself).