latest stable versions: v150827 (changelog)

Old Forums (READ-ONLY): The community now lives at WP Sharks™. If you have an s2Member® Pro question, please use our new Support System.

Doing things with menus based on member level

Home Forums Community Forum Doing things with menus based on member level

This topic contains 15 replies, has 3 voices. Last updated by  Cristián Lávaque 4 years, 10 months ago.

Topic Author Topic
Posted: Thursday Mar 8th, 2012 at 12:29 pm #7626
Andy White
Username: 58twelve

Hi

Newbie here in need of some guidance, please.

I have a resources section which will offer free resources to everyone, a level of resources to non-paying subscribers, and a level of resources that will be available to paid subscribers.

I have 3 menus set up: Free Resources, Level 1 Resources and Level 2 resources.

What I want to be able to do is display menus in the left hand sidebar according to membership level. ie everyone sees free Resources, non paying subscribers see that one plus Level 1 Resources, and paying members see all three. I kind of got it working using what I found here: http://www.primothemes.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=707&p=54152 but only if each menu included the others – ie menu 2 was menu 1 plus menu 2 and menu 3 was menu 1 items plus menu 2 items plus menu 3 items.

But I need to be able to style each menu differently and have it self enclosed (ie not one long list) hence wanting to bring in additional menus separately based on member level.

I tried using conditionals but it kept throwing errors. I was trying something along the lines of:

<?php 
if(!is_user_logged_in()){
    wp_nav_menu (array ("theme_location" => "primary-public"));
elseif(!is_user_logged_in()) {
    S2MEMBER_CURRENT_USER_ACCESS_LEVEL=1;
    wp_nav_menu (array ("theme_location" => "resources-level-1"));
} elseif(!is_user_logged_in()) {
    S2MEMBER_CURRENT_USER_ACCESS_LEVEL=2;
    wp_nav_menu (array ("theme_location" => "resources-level-2"));