latest stable versions: v150827 (changelog)

Old Forums (READ-ONLY): The community now lives at WP Sharks™. If you have an s2Member® Pro question, please use our new Support System.

Multisite Membership Login

Home Forums Community Forum Multisite Membership Login

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices. Last updated by  Cristián Lávaque 4 years, 6 months ago.

Topic Author Topic
Posted: Monday Jul 9th, 2012 at 1:06 pm #18678

I am starting to wonder if WordPress is the correct selection for what I am trying to achieve. I have a master site, with multiple subsites:

SuperAdmin
MasterSite.com (BuddyPress/Forums and all accounts managed at this level)
-Sub1.com
-Sub2.com
-Sub3.com

I would like to have a common login (SSO) for these sites, so the user can browse the multiple sites without loggin into each of the subsites.

The issues currently are many since I am new to all of this. I am currently trying to get around the issue of having to login (as the admin) to each site I open to administer. This I assume is happening for all users too.

I am going to try to show the current content (from many of the sub-sites) on the MasterSite.com, and those subsites will have the current content and tutorials on them for each of the software packages they represent. (an example of the sub-sites using MSOffice would be a site for each package of Word, Excel and PowerPoint.) So the topics on the sub-sites will cater to the usage of each package, but activity summarized on the main site.

I have read about modifying the wp-config file to allow the cookies to work for the site. Then, I read about not to modify this on a MU installation. Which is it, and am I able to add the sites I want to have the cookie active for and something similar to SSO for a sign on one time and access all sites that are associated? In other words, do I add each of the sites in the COOKIE_DOMAIN entry, or else how can this be achieved?

I hope I was clear enough.

List Of Topic Replies