latest stable versions: v150827 (changelog)

Old Forums (READ-ONLY): The community now lives at WP Sharks™. If you have an s2Member® Pro question, please use our new Support System.

Registration form processing (503 error)

Home Forums Community Forum Registration form processing (503 error)

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices. Last updated by  Ken Smith 3 years, 3 months ago.

Topic Author Topic
Posted: Sunday Sep 1st, 2013 at 11:05 pm #58958

Hi there. I’ve never actually written to a forum like this before, so please bear with me.

I’ve been using s2Member on a client’s website for several months now. It’s a great plugin.

However, we’ve had a recent issue with membership registrations not processing and registrants getting a “503: Service Temporarily Unavailable” error. “The server cannot process your request because of maintenance downtime or capacity issues. Please try again later.”

This is not related to login issues, or too many IP addresses as I’ve seen several others mention on the forums. People can log in fine. And we can add a new user manually, and then they can login fine.

It’s just the submission of the registration form that is sporadically giving this 503 error messages.

Strangely enough, in several cases, when I’ve replicated the error, if I refresh the browser on the 503 error page (specifically in Chrome) the page goes through and processes. But this doesn’t work in Firefox or Safari. Sporadic in IE.

This issue started sometime in the past 6 days, because on Aug. 26, 2013, we processed registrations with no problem.

There is no issue with PayPal or redirection. Everything works perfectly until the user tries to submit their registration form. Then the error. PayPal is processing all of their payments, which can make for an unhappy user to pay, yet then not be able to finish the registration process.