latest stable versions: v150827 (changelog)

Old Forums (READ-ONLY): The community now lives at WP Sharks™. If you have an s2Member® Pro question, please use our new Support System.

Registration form requirements

Home Forums Community Forum Registration form requirements

This topic contains 6 replies, has 3 voices. Last updated by  Cristián Lávaque 4 years, 3 months ago.

Topic Author Topic
Posted: Monday Sep 17th, 2012 at 3:15 pm #25605
Fred Riley
Username: fredriley

Hi

This query relates to what’s needed to implement a registration form with Paypal. This is vague I know, but I’m new to s2member.

I’ve recently got my organisation to purchase s2member Pro, and I’ve installed it ok on our WordPress installation (currently under development) after having played with the free version. I’ve also set up buyer and seller accounts in the Paypal sandbox. Our organisation currently uses PayPal Website Payments Standard, not Pro.

A current major headache for our membership secretary is that subscribers to our existing non-WP site will click on a PayPal button on the Join page, pay their sub, then the secretary will just receive a bare email that someone has paid, but she often doesn’t know who so has to chase that up by emailing the subscriber. So we would like the subscriber to fill out a form before or after s/he pays so that we know who s/he is. We would also like to add some custom fields to the registration form (eg institution, occupation).

My general question is: what’s the best way to go about this?

More specifically:

1. can we stick with PP Standard, or do we need to go to Pro Forms? I’m sure we could afford Pro but I don’t want to land us with recurring fees if there’ll be no advantage to them.
  2. if we use Pro Forms, will the registration form details go into the WordPress database (minus credit card info, of course)?